Laura Shoe's Lightroom (and Occasionally Photoshop) Blog for Digital Photographers

Posts Tagged ‘synchronize’

Applying Develop Settings to Groups of Images

In Uncategorized on November 8, 2009 at 5:41 pm

If you are looking to save time as you work a shoot, before you start developing it think ahead about which images are shot under similar conditions and therefore need similar adjustments, or which images you  you want similar treatments for (e.g. black and white), and apply your changes to these groups of images all at once.

Lightroom is a relatively new program, but there are already multiple ways of accomplishing this,  each with a different twist.   You have three main choices:

1.  Make changes to your first image and then synchronize the settings:

  • After making the changes to the first image, in the filmstrip select all of the images you want to apply the setting to, including the one you already did.
  • Make sure the one you already did is “active”.  Do this by clicking inside the thumbnail for that image, so that the border is brighter than the other selected images.  (Clicking outside the thumbnail will break apart the selection!)
  • Click on the Sync… button at the bottom of the right-hand panel strip. (If you don’t have multiple images selected, you won’t see it.)
  • Choose which settings from the active image you want to apply to the rest of the images, and hit Synchronize.

2.  Make changes to all of the images at once:

  • In the filmstrip, select all of the images you want to affect.   Decide which of these images you want to see as you work, and click inside its thumbnail to make it active.
  • Hold down the Ctl/Cmd key, and click on the Sync… button to change it to Auto Sync.
  • With Auto Sync on, make changes to the active image.  Notice how the same changes are applied to all of the selected images automatically.
  • Remember to turn Auto Sync off, or you may end up making unintended changes to groups of images.  Hold down the Ctl/Cmd key and click on Auto Sync to change it back to Sync…

3.  Copy and Paste your settings:

This method works for applying settings to one additional image, not groups of images.  I find it completely unnecessary given the Sync functionality, but since the buttons are there (at the bottom of the left hand panel strip), I will mention it.

  • Make changes to your first image.
  • Hit Copy, and select which settings you want to copy to another image.
  • Select another image you want to apply the settings to.
  • Hit Paste.

Figure out which method(s) you prefer, get in the habit of using them, and really start to leverage the power of Lightroom to get you away from the computer in much less time.

 

Synchronizing Your Folders in Lightroom

In Uncategorized on June 7, 2009 at 10:04 am

You have imported a folder of images into Lightroom.  Later you add more images to that folder.   Have Lightroom figure out which haven’t been imported into its catalog and import them for you:

  • In the Library Folders panel,  right-click on your folder (ctl-click on a one button mouse) .
  • Select Synchronize Folder.   Lightroom looks at the folder and determines how many of the images it does not yet have in the catalog.
  • Check  Show Import Dialog if you want to be able to copy, move or rename the files, add copyright metadata, keywords, or apply develop presets as the images are imported.
  • Scan for Metadata Updates will look to see if any of the images already imported have been updated more recently in Bridge or another program.  (It will read check the XMP file.)
  • Hit Synchronize.
  • If you checked Show Import Dialog, go through this dialog as you normally would.

There are many situations where you may add more images to a folder.   Here’s one example:  a client of mine has a folder of scanned images.  This folder of images has been imported into Lightroom.  When she scans new images and they are saved into the folder, she now synchronizes the folder to get the new scans into Lightroom.