Laura Shoe's Lightroom (and Occasionally Photoshop) Blog for Digital Photographers

I Would Cry if I Lost the Work I Did Today

In Uncategorized on April 15, 2010 at 7:41 pm

(Updated 7/21/11)

A reader pointed out recently that I have never written a post on the topic of doing backups — I was surprised by this since I agree it is a very, very important topic.  I checked back through the archives, and  indeed, he was right.

Have you ever  thought (as I did today) that you would burst into tears or have to break open a bottle (before noon!) if you lost Lightroom work you did or images you captured?  If so, you are going too long between backups.

Let’s first go back to my public library analogy for Lightroom:  if the stacks of books burned down but the card catalog was saved, could the library function?  Could it function if the stacks were saved but the catalog was destroyed?  Of course the answer in both cases is no.  It is true that it would take less time, expense and effort to recover from the catalog destruction, but both are critical pieces to the functioning of the public library.  With Lightroom, your images are like the stacks of books and the Lightroom catalog is like the card catalog in the library.  When you think of backing up your photo library, you need to plan to back up both the images and the Lightroom catalog.

It is obvious what you lose if your hard drive crashes and you lose all your images, but what do you lose if you lose your catalog?  YOU LOSE ALL OF THE WORK YOU HAVE EVER DONE IN LIGHTROOM — your keywords, ratings, flags, entered metadata, develop fixes and enhancements, collections and more.   (Yes, if you are saving to XMP you might still have much of your work, but that is a topic for another day.)     Could you recreate what you would lose?  Perhaps — but do you have enough free time and patience to do so?

My first recommendation is that you store your images and your catalog in one folder (which I’ll refer to as your photo library folder), so that you know that all you have to do is back up this one folder.  This folder can reside either on your internal hard drive or an external drive.  By default your catalog is in a folder called Lightroom in your My Pictures or Pictures folder on your internal hard drive.  If your images are also there and you are happy with that, you are set.   (If you regularly work on two computers, having your catalog and images on an external hard drive has the advantage of allowing you to easily move from one computer to another — see my post on this topic.)

If you are not sure where your catalog is, or you know where it is and you want to move it, see this post on how to do so. 

If you don’t want to move things around, that is fine — just make sure that you understand that you need to back up both your catalog and your images.

Once you know where things are, backing up is pretty straightforward.  You can do a straight copy to a backup external hard drive, or you can use a program like Time Machine on the Mac, Windows 7 Backup on the PC, or one of many third party programs —  a colleague of mine recommends Acronis True Image for the PC, and Carbon Copy Cloner for the Mac.  Advantages to using a backup program include (1) that the backup is verified, so you can be sure it was 100.000% successful,  (2) it can be scheduled, so it does not rely on you to remember to do the backup, and (3) after the first backup is done, future ones only copy things that have changed, so it is quicker.

How often should you do a backup?  Frankly, it depends on how risk averse you are and the stakes involved.  If you photograph or work your images every day, and it would be emotionally or financially distressing to you  to lose any of this work, then back up every day. If it would be upsetting to lose even one day’s work, back up after 4 hours.

How many backups should you have?  Again, it depends on how risk averse you are and the stakes involved for you.  At a minimum have a backup on site for convenience, and one offsite or online, in case a burglar breaks in and steals all your hard drives.

So what about the Lightroom-guided backups that you are prompted to do when Lightroom closes (starts in LR 2)?  Contrary to popular belief, these are just backups of your catalog, and not your image files.  This backup is critical as well.   Lightroom catalogs can become corrupted and unusable.  It doesn’t happen often, but it does happen.  If corruption occurs right before you do the hard drive backup discussed above, all you have on your backup drive is a corrupted catalog.  You also need more backups of the catalog spread out over time, so you can get back to one before the corruption occured.  This is what the catalog backup prompt is for.   I put these backups on the same drive as my main catalog, in a Backups folder in my catalog folder (By default, Pictures\Lightroom\Backups).   As a result, I have backups on my main drive, and backups of the backups on my backup drive.  I like the redundancy that this creates.   

I have Lightroom prompt me to do this backup once a day.  If I haven’t done any significant work, I  just hit the Skip button.  To change the frequency of this prompt to whatever works for you, up in the menu bar in Lightroom go to Lightroom (Edit on a PC) > Catalog Settings.

I recommend occasionally going in and deleting many of these backups, because they accumulate and over time consume a tremendous amount of hard drive space).  (See my post on deleting backups.)

Finally, I recommend that most people take one more step to protect their work.  Lightroom allows you to write out most of your work not only to the catalog, but also optionally into the XMP information that tags along with your original image.  With your proprietary camera raw files (NEF’s, CRW’s, CR2’s, etc.) this shows up as a separate small XMP “sidecar” file that lives next to your original file.  With DNG’s and jpegs, the XMP information is stored within the file.  If you go to Edit (Lightroom on the Mac)>Catalog Settings, click on the Metadata tab, and check “Automatically write changes to XMP”, this will happen automatically as you work on images.  Most users will not even notice this extra write work that Lightroom is doing.  Some power users may — for you, don’t check this box;  instead, after working a shoot, select all the images (ctl/cmd-A), and then go to Metadata>Save Metadata to File (or ctl/cmd-S).  Note though that this isn’t a complete substitute for backing up your catalog — collections, virtual copies, Develop history, and some other types of information are not stored in the XMP files.  Why do it anyway then, particularly when you are religiously backing up your catalog as I advise?  It’s just extra insurance. 

In summary, I do a hard drive backup (of my photo library folder as well as of all my other documents) periodically, I back up my catalog every time I have done any significant work (otherwise I hit the Skip Now button), and I have Lightroom automatically write my changes to XMP.    Figure out a plan that works for you, and stick to it!

Advertisements
  1. You are correct to emphasize the importance of back up. The most thorough treatment of the subject that I have found is at http://WWW.Outbackphoto.com Over the course of several months they did a seven part series that I would recommend to anyone doing digital photography.

    Link below:

    http://www.outbackphoto.com/CONTENT_2007_01/section_Backup_ArchivalForPhotographers/index.html

    The icon used for the articles is a building with a construction crane because it was a work in progress for some period.

    Bob Mc

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s